Closing your teacher account

We’re sorry to hear that you would like to close your teacher account, but we are happy to help! As long as your teacher account has no projects or drafts requiring further action, you can go ahead and close your teacher account. Here’s how:

  1. Go to the Public Info tab of your account.
  2. Choose Close My Account near the bottom of the page.
  3. Select a reason why you wish to deactivate.
  4. Hit the Deactivate My Teacher Account button at the bottom of the page.

If your teacher account is ready to be closed, hitting the Deactivate My Teacher Account button will automatically deactivate it. Once your teacher account has been closed you’ll still be able to log-in as a donor, but you won’t be able to create any projects or accept any donations.

If your account has any draft projects or live projects, you will have to remove these before you can close your teacher account. To remove these, all you have to do is hit archive (for draft projects) or remove project (for live projects) on your project page.

If you have any projects on your account that you cannot remove yourself, because they still require action from you, please contact us to help close your teacher account.

 

 

Hide your teacher details

You can choose whether or not to hide your teacher details when closing out your account. If you select “Hide my deactivated teacher account on the DonorsChoose.org website” when closing your account, we will remove your last name, the welcome message from your public teacher page, and your classroom photo from the site. Your completed projects will remain public so that your amazing donors can still see their impact on your students, but your last name and classroom photo will be removed.